Photo Gallery

Sport Overview

Open to athletes who have permanent substantial loss of function in one or both legs. The main difference from the rules of able-bodied tennis is that two bounces are allowed in wheelchair tennis.

The USA led the medal haul at the 2011 Guadalajara games with three gold, one silver, and one bronze. Argentina came in second with a total medal count of one gold and two silver, and Colombia third with one silver and one bronze.


While the sport of able-bodied tennis dates back to the late 19th century in the United Kingdom, wheelchair tennis’ roots are 1976 America.

Wheelchair tennis first appeared on the Paralympic program at the Seoul 1988 Games.

How it works

Opponents hit the ball back and forth over a .914 metre (three-foot) net situated in the middle of the court using a variety of shots. The objective is to hit the ball into the opponent’s half of the court without them being able to return it. Rules for wheelchair tennis are the same as able-bodied except that two bounces are permitted.


A serve that lands beyond the court’s boundaries or does not go over the net.

A legal serve that the opposing player fails to touch with his/her racquet.

No score.



Physical Impairment

Sport Class

Open class:
This class is designated for athletes who have a significant and permanent impairment of one or both legs and normal arm function.

Additional Information

Additional Information